Handymania: Painting

Chelsea & I, in the midst of our chaotic unpacking, decided to multiply the chaos by throwing a can of paint into the mess.  Originally, we wanted to paint just our hutch.  But then I came to the conclusion that we also needed to paint our new/used drawer-thinger.  And then, after painting these things, I–in a manic-like state, complete with streaks of paint in my hair and on my arms–obeyed my compulsion to paint our DVD case.  So, now, most of the the things that we owned that were brown are now antique-ishly white-ish.  Here’s a pictorial narrative of our painting venture:

"Hey, Chad! Painting is fun!  We can do it!"

Chelsea: “Hey, Chad! Painting is fun! We can do it!”

"Chelsea, you're right--we can do it.  In fact, we're doing it right now!"

Chad: “Chelsea, you’re right–we can do it. In fact, we’re doing it right now!”

"Chad, this is so fun I could do it forever! I'm going to take a break, now!"

Chelsea: “Chad, this is so fun I could do it forever!
I’m going to take a break now.”

"...I don't think she's coming back.  It's okay, Chad, just keep painting.  Just keep painting, just keep painting, just keep painting, painting, painting..."

Chad: “…I don’t think she’s coming back. It’s okay, Chad, just keep painting–you can do this.
Just keep painting, just keep painting, just keep painting, painting, painting

"Ah, all done painting.  Surely, putting everything back together will be easy, right?"

Chad: “Ah, all done painting. Surely putting the doors and glass panes and screws back together will be easy & self-explanatory, right?”

Chad: "*Sigh* My masterpiece is finished...but...it's...missing something..."

*3 hours later*
Chad: “Sigh…my masterpiece is finished….but…it’s…missing something…”

Chelsea: "CHAD! IT NEEDS A WOMAN'S TOUCH!..."

Chelsea: “CHAD! IT NEEDS A WOMAN’S TOUCH!…”

Chelsea: "...like so." :)

Chelsea: “…like so.” 🙂

Although the hutch was painted to our satisfaction, my manic mind could get no satisfaction, and so I ventured on…

Chad: "I'M PAINTING THIS WHITE..."

Chad: “NOW I’M PAINTING THIS WHITE.”

Chad: "AND THEN I'M GOING TO PAINT THIS WHITE."

Chad: “AND THEN I’M GOING TO PAINT THIS WHITE.”

Chad: "NICE."

Chad: “NICE.”

Chad: "DOUBLE NICE."

Chad: “DOUBLE NICE.”

And so it’s true: I have been self-diagnosed with handymania.  That evening, I checked myself into bed; in doing so, I immediately began to come back to sanity.  That lasted about a day, and then I relapsed.  (Stay tuned for the second installment of this mini-blog-series…)

paints & saints,
Chad

2 thoughts on “Handymania: Painting

  1. Pingback: Handymania: Woodworking | Chad and Chelsea

Leave a Reply

