Chewed food, dude.

Allow me to revise a common maxim:

The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, unless he’s a picky eater.

Chelsea is way too good to me, daily catering to my t-buds (slang for “taste buds”).  She generally limits her cooking ventures because of my distaste for a few of her choice ingredients–but, on the positive end, I’m fairly easy to please (PBJ-4-lyfe!).  So sometimes we decide to make separate meals so that we can each eat what we want to eat.  Each of us experimented in the kitchen recently.  Here’s what happened:

Chelsea’s Recipe
Chelsea decided to make curry.  I still don’t know what that is, but now I definitely know how it smells:

Don't judge me--she even thought it smelled bad.

Don’t judge me–she even thought it smelled bad.

Chelsea seemed to have a like-hate relationship with her homemade curry (and because “hate” outweighs “like”, I doubt she’ll make it for herself again).  But kudos to her for sticking it to The Man by making a meal for herself instead of her man–she deserves it!

Chad’s Recipe
My recipe, however, was a complete success–and completely juvenile.

Weekly, I kept facing the same problem: How do I keep running out of off-brand-Cocoa-Puffs so quickly?!  I came up with a solution: a heterogeneous mixture of cereals, consisting of off-brand-Cocoa-Puffs & less-than-desirable-less-sugary-cereal, that would not dilute the chocolaty flavor, and would thereby prolong the life of my bag of chocolaty goodness.  I present to you, How to Make Off-Brand-Honey-Nut-Cocoa-Puffs:

1) Get a bowl.  Make sure it is empty.

1) Get a bowl. Make sure it is empty.

2) Fill bowl with 1 part undesirable cereal.

2) Fill bowl with 1 part undesirable cereal.

3) Fill bowl with 2 parts of desirable cereal.

3) Fill bowl with 2 parts desirable cereal.

4) Make sure bowl is on the cusp of overflow.

4) Make sure bowl is on the cusp of overflow.

5) Stir until colors commingle.

5) Stir until colors commingle.

6) Milk.

6) Milk.

7) Eat whilst wearing bathrobe.

7) Eat whilst wearing bathrobe.

In the end, the best meals are the ones we share (and generally the ones that Chelsea cooks).  Not long after The Curry Incident, Chelsea surprised me with a romantic dinner:

Of course Chelsea didn't just make iced coffee & biscuits--she had ribs in the oven.  When I walked in, the lights were dim...it made me feel pretty cool.

Of course Chelsea didn’t just make iced coffee & biscuits for dinner–she had ribs & tater-tots waiting in the oven.  When I walked in, the lights were dimmed…it made me feel pretty cool, guys.

Chelsea’s my favorite.

freaks & geeks,
Chad

One thought on “Chewed food, dude.

  1. Pingback: Chewed bliss, miss. | Chad and Chelsea

Leave a Reply

