Christianese

What are the words that make you cringe when it comes to faith/Christianity? I have two.

1) Repent. I really don’t like the word repent. Even on Dictionary.com it sums it up as feeling guilty enough about sin to decide to change your ways. I don’t think that is a very good definition. Here is a verse that I do like, “Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance? (Romans 2:4).

I don’t think true repentance is guilt driven, as dictionary.com says. It’s about being so in awe/love with God that sin doesn’t even make sense. Or sometimes it’s being obedient by self discipline, because you have an eternal commitment to this God who created you. Because you have a spirit of power, love, and self-control (2 Timothy 1:7), even when you don’t feel like it.

2) Submit. I want to submit to God. I want to “follow”, “respect”, and “trust” Chad… This word is more about the word itself, I agree with the meaning, except, I don’t think I need to obey Chad. It’s a difficult word because it is used for submitting to God and for a woman to submit to her husband, so it’s hard not to assume too much weight on the word.

I have more things I want to blog about soon, but only had time for a random, short one tonight. Let me know what your cringe-worthy Christianese are, or let me know if I’m the only one who feels this way. 😛

-Chelsea

One thought on “Christianese

Leave a Reply

